As you can tell from the title, this is my most long awaited review, I've been wanting to do it for a while, and I feel that now, I can finally give an in depth review of it.
First off, i am a major fan of the WWE games series, having owned or played every Smackdown game since it's lowly beginnings on PS1. So this was a game i was really waiting for, and my oh my does it surprise me!
This was the version of the game I got, as it was pretty obvious that it was going to be an excellent game, lets just say, when I saw the shine of the case, my eyes lit up more than anything.
I first went into my ritual of creating my character, entrances and move-sets, as well as making an arena for my character, the creation suite is something excellent, THQ really know how to surprise people in their games, and make them as outlandish as possible while keeping a depth of realism, something of which I love in a game.
I then went through the 'story' mode, named "Road To Wrestlemania", this year's version of it was amazing, it told more of a story, and went through 3 stages, over about 2 years in the WWE calendar (including injuries), the 3 stages are 'Villain', 'Outsider' and 'Hero', the hero stage is what caught me the most, as it brings in your created character of choice, but I won't spoil it more than that.
I then started using WWE Universe 2.0, I didnt particularly bother with this mode last year, and it annoyed me that it was always on, and mixed in with normal quick play matches, this year though, it is a separate entity, with separate title following etc. I'm mainly using my created character, while skipping other matches, unless they are interesting to me. I went through to the first PPV, Royal Rumble, and did the main event match, which my guy won, and guaranteed him a shot at a world title at Wrestlemania, which I could choose, I then went through the next PPV, Elimination Chamber, which my guy didnt really feature to much in.
Then came the fun part, choosing my opponent for the title shot, I had the choice between CM Punk and Christian (I think), I chose CM Punk as he was on my guy's show, and it would be the most fun for me.
We then went through week on week of feud building, with CM Punk joining forces with Mason Ryan, and John Cena, who was my friend long before this, helping me out, until we got to the moment...
This picture was a perfect reminder of what was about to happen to me. The match went back and forth, blow being traded endlessly, until I hit my finisher, that was it, this happened...
Yup... my guy became champion! needless to say he kept it for a while, going through various matches keeping the title.
Its games like this that make me smile, and really enthrall me into playing more and more, I adore the game, minus the bugs it has, but they will be worked out in the near future, hopefully. I love the game so much, I'll give it a 9/10, it isnt perfect, for the reason of Online play being a bit borked, and some of the animations going balls up, but my passion for wrestling games sees through such flaws.
Not sure at what I will do next on here, could be anything at any time, but for now, that's it... IF YA SMELLLLLLALLALALALAL... (I'm not even gonna finish that... The Rock is too great to steal lines from)


