Saturday, 23 February 2013

Microsoft vs Sony? Why not both? (AKA Which company succeeds in moneygrabbing the most)

Right, its been a while, but something has come up which I feel I need to touch on. I'm sure you've heard the arguments, and possibly been involved in one or two. If you are around my age, then you most certainly have. Its a now age old question; Which gaming console is better, PS3 or Xbox 360, Microsoft or Sony? Here, I'm going to give my opinion, and my personal choice, which may, or may not surprise you.

Firstly, lets look at each console in detail, what do they hold that gets the consumers to buy them? Now I won't go into the technical details, as that would most certainly bore you to death, instead, I'm going on personal experience with each console. Now I hear those Nintendo fans shouting "What about the Wii/Wii U?" Well, let me just say I didnt enjoy my experiences with the Wii, hell, its a great kit, but not to my taste, and I do not own the Wii U, and probably never will.

Right, I'm rambling, so, I'll let Sony go first, sorry MS fans! Sony in my eyes were my entire childhood and teenage years rolled into one, I have owned each original model PlayStation made, now sadly, I no longer own the PS1 or PS2, and my current PS3 is sitting with the YLOD, after a 6 year run with 2 owners, myself and who I had it off, I'd consider them all a major run of my life, but I am no way a fanboy of Sony, in fact, I have slated the PS3 to high heaven, I won't get into details, but it ranges from the types of games I play on there to the audience that uses them, as well as the high price point they carry. I have had my share of problems with the PS3, but I've also praised it also, firstly, free online play? That is a brilliant addition to a wonderful piece of kit. My current games range from Dead Island to MotorStorm, with each game being really enjoyable, see my reviews on Dead Island and Uncharted for more on the types of games I play.

Now I have heard the term "God Console" for this console, and I can honestly say, it isn't a God console by any shot, it has its flaws, it is not invincible, but it is damn close to being perfect it hurts me to say it. My honest opinion is just that, I like it, but not enough for it to be a main console by a long shot. Now this may seem I'm backing Microsoft up as my main console, you'd be wrong. I may have more games for it, but that thing isnt perfect either.

Now I never owned the original Xbox, but I have played it, and to be honest, I actually enjoyed it, but not enough to take over my PS2 of the time. I got my Xbox 360 around the time the Halo 3 edition came out, I was pushed over to the elite on the day though, and I took that. My love of the PS2 didn't stop though, I used it religiously, until the new dashboard experience (NXE) came on the Xbox. I hooked the console online have havent stopped since. I have been a victim of the infamous RROD, to which I sent it back, and still have my original one, good as new. I like the Xbox for a number of reasons, but as I said, it has its problems.

The main problem it holds? Xbox Live, for two reasons; 1. It costs to play online, now I hate having to fork out for a yearly subscription, but you pay for what you get, which is an all round good experience, my personal problem lies with the cost though, £40 a year for a live subscription? That could go on so much more.

Number 2 is the people that use the Xbox, they seem blind that companies like Bungie should be limited to Microsoft, it makes me sick that fanboys of either console seem blind that their console is superior. They really aren't perfect at all. I sit on the fence on this for a reason, the people that play the games.

Now I primarily use the Xbox for driving games, and PS3 for action games, so my opinion is far from the most definitive choice, as I have my preferences. But my choice is simple, why not own both? If you can afford it, then this would be my choice easily, in fact, at the time of writing this, I am looking at getting a newer PS3 (The first console I have had an update on by the way.) So my fence sitting is rather good, but also really annoying, watching the blind fanboys forking out money as soon as a console or game (Call of Duty anyone) comes out. I'm currently looking at getting older consoles because of this reason. Now you may say "Move forward, join us in the future!" But I think the older consoles were the golden ages, and I just love them.